jump to navigation

Remembering Sept. 11, 2001 September 11, 2008

Posted by thestellaranomaly in Uncategorized.
trackback

It’s hard to believe it’s been 7 years since that horrific day back in 2001.  I still remember finding out about the Twin Towers like it was yesterday.

I was 15 year old sophomore in high school just sitting in study hall and waiting impatiently for lunch time to begin.  All of a sudden, my teacher, who had been out of the classroom for several minutes, rushed in and informed us that the World Trade Center and the Pentagon had been hit by planes.  She told us to be respectful and sensitive to anybody who could be personally affected by the tragedies.

I still hadn’t seen any footage of the planes crashing or the buildings falling down, so the news didn’t hit me or anyone else around me as hard as one may think.  But when I went home and turned on the TV, boy was I horrified by what I saw.  I couldn’t believe anyone could be so evil, so despicable, so hateful, and have so little respect for human life as those 19 thugs.  I won’t show them anymore respect by even mentioning them from here on out, they don’t deserve to be talked about.  What I’d like to remember are the ordinary people who showed immense courage and became heroes that day.

When tragedy happens, you not only get to see the evil side of human nature, but you also get to see the good.  When I heard about the policemen, firefighters, and ordinary citizens who not only risked, but gave up their lives to save others that day, it made realize how much I loved this country!  We pulled together like never before and I became even more honored to be an American citizen.  The sacrifice of those brave people showed me why terrorist hate America so much.  I firmly believe that there are just some people who are evil, and some people who are just good.  The evil ones see America as their gravest threat because we as a people are the antithesis of everything they stand for, we are inherently good.

So today, I just want to remember those who perished and say God Bless those who have suffered greatly from this tragedy.  You and your loved ones are in my prayers…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

